This inaugural award was made in 2017 by NIHR CLAHRC Northwest London in memory of Brian Turley, a dedicated and committed patient advocate and disability rights campaigner. Sadly Brian died unexpectedly in February 2016 and in honour of his contribution and as a way to sustain his values and commitment to patient engagement and involvement we are extending the award this year to all three CLAHRC programmes in London and introducing two new categories.

The three awards categories are:

Award 1: Team working with patients, service users, carers, families and communities

Award 2: Early career researcher, including PhD students, service user researchers and members of CLAHRC Fellowship Programmes

Award 3: Patient / service user / carer with influence 

The purpose of the awards is to celebrate and promote patient and carer involvement in healthcare research and improvement.

The last Brian Turley Award was held March 2018. 
Future opportunities to nominate for the 2019 Brian Turley Award will be announced closer to the time.

For more information about the Brian Turley Award contact Rachel Matthews 
or your relevant CLAHRC contact.

 NIHR CLAHRC Northwest London

Rachel Matthews ¦ ¦ +44 (0) 7889 179 034

NIHR CLAHRC South London

Stan Papoulias ¦ ¦ +44 (0) 20 7848 5077

NIHR CLAHRC North Thames 

Steven Towndrow ¦ ¦+44 (0)203 108 3241